Snow, Ceilings and Siding!

Hello again! If you’re not in Alabama, you may not know that we had some unusual precipitation last week – SNOW! Some of our sweet neighbors sent us photos because Eric and I were stuck elsewhere. We hated missing it! Here are some photos of our first snow event in Coaling… that we didn’t get to experience ourselves. If you’re already sick of snow photos from Alabama, just scroll down for other happenings!

Our beautiful water oak!Dec 11 22Dec 11 21Dec 11 18Dec 11 17

The magnoliasDec 11 15Dec 11 14Dec 11 13Dec 11 11

The pasture.Dec 11 10

Duchess and Jaguar!Dec 11 9

Some scenes around Casablanca over the weekend…

The brick for the chimney is in! We hope this project gets going very soon – likely this week.Dec 11 6

Sheet rock is in and ready to go up!Dec 11 7

This just struck my funny bone. I love that if you’re working in a full-blown construction/renovation site and you need something like a ladder… you just make one! There is no doubt that I would be the one walking through stacks of lumber thinking, “If I only had a ladder!”Dec 11 8

It occurred to me that I haven’t updated you on Eric’s hard-earned progress on our living room ceiling! There is no way to accurately convey the blood, sweat and tears that he has put into this. The tears were probably mine, but no matter.

It’s time for some Before And Almost-After photos!

20170624_163947Dec 11 2

We have learned that the white stains in the wood could be lime wash paint used who-knows-how-long ago. It has seeped into the wood and we’ll never get it out. But we’ve decided we love it like it is. This ceiling still needs to be caulked between the boards and sealed – tung oil, anyone? Did my hubs do an amazing job here or what??

The BEST news of the day is that Casablanca is getting her new siding – even as I type! I can hardly stand it! I’ve been dreaming of breakfasts on this back porch for 2 years… and it’s closer than ever. Thanks, Friends – more soon!

Dec 11 5

Leave a comment