Fences and Neighbors

Since Robert Frost said, “Good fences make good neighbors,” Eric and I decided to build one this weekend and see for ourselves! Just a casual weekend at Casablanca.

Lucky for us, we have fantastic neighbors. But a couple of them are of the equine persuasion and we needed a way to keep them off Mom’s construction site. Eric and I (and let’s be clear… mostly Eric) put in a wire fence around Mom’s house site. I gotta say, I’m pretty proud of us. I have certainly never built a fence before – nor wanted to!

Here’s our before pic:March 25 1

Of course, Mango had to come check on his friends…March 25 2

Eric manned the post-hole driver and I basically worked the tape measure. I’m super useful like that.March 25 3

About mid-afternoon, our historian friend, Jim Phillips, dropped by with some metal detectors, so he and Eric surveyed the property. They didn’t find much, but it was a beautiful day for it.March 25 8

I helped them out by making sure the porch was still worth sitting on. And it totally is.March 25 10

We got back to fence building and finished up about sundown. A pretty productive day, if I do say so. This pic doesn’t show much detail, but we installed 31 t-posts and seemingly 14 miles of barbless wire. March 25 7

Duchess came to check out the progress.March 25 4

And Spring is springing in some beautiful places around the house. Can’t wait for more weekends like this one… only maybe without as many t-posts!March 25 6March 25 5

I hate to end on a sad note, but I’ve got to report that our sweet Shadow is no longer with us. I found her in the road last Thursday night. Shadow was the sweetest lap cat and we are missing her very much. If you have a pet, you understand. I want her back so badly!

Oct 8 10

March 25 11

Leave a comment